The Glen has played a prominent part in the part in the rich history of the Village of Williamsville. Over the years, the Glen has lent its name to such landmarks as the Glen Park Casino and Williamsville’s only Amusement Park. Today, the park remains a popular spot for family outings, romantic strolls, and is a splendid setting for wedding party photographs. The Glen Park Tavern is proud to build on its established legacy as the historical cornerstone of the Village of Williamsville. Historical Glen-Park-Tavern The hamlet first adopted the name of “William’s Mills,” after Jonas Williams, who constructed a rough mill on the East bank of Ellicott Creek in 1811. Williams abandoned the East bank mill to erect one on the West bank, which remains in operation today. A military garrison during the War of 1812. “Williams Mills” would thereafter become know as Williamsville. The Williamsville Post Office would be instituted for the growing settlement in 1823, and Williamsville would be officially incorporated in 1850. Today it remains the only incorporated village in the Town of Amherst.