Our building is a special place. Built in 1923 by polish immigrants, Paul and Bernice Zukowski, it has been a part of Hamtramck history for more than eighty years. In those days, it was a typical corner store. In the front they sold everything from fresh meat and produce to brooms and laundry detergent. The back housed a soda fountain and candy store. The building is now owned by the fourth generation of Zukowski''s descendants. It has been lovingly restored to its original beauty. The oak shelving, the wood cooler, the brass meat scale and the tin ceilings are just some of the period details that make Cafe 1923 a unique experience.